[Comic] When chronic illness changes you

I’m on fire this last week. Four posts? Who even does that?! ME! But seriously. I’ve spent my downtime between moving having some deep-and-meaningful thoughts about life, the universe and everything and this comic is the result of that.

When you have any kind of chronic illness, be it physical, mental or otherwise, you change. Sometimes things can change for the better, and sometimes… well, I’ll let you read.

 

39 - Chronic Illness changes you

On an aside, Manthing pointed out that I managed to draw my own toe wrong. I am, in fact, missing the nail on the big toe of my right foot. The more you know.

10 thoughts on “[Comic] When chronic illness changes you

  1. So true! Well other than my sensitive skin making my winter ‘leg warmers’ not last a couple days or more due to pokey itchyness. Now looking back though, that never really bothered me until becoming ill 😛

    • It’s funny how our priorities change with these things. You start with “must fit that idea” of what you’re supposed to look like, and it very much becomes a process of necessity. “Do I NEED to endure the pain of X? Is the exhaustion of Y worth it?”

      A few years back, I almost never wore shorts because I was mortified at the idea of people seeing *gasp* body hair, even after I shaved. Now I honestly couldn’t care less. If/when people bring it up, I tell them it keeps the spiders from crawling up my pants and is a great mosquito deterrent! 🙂

      • I think the biggest hurdle we face is believing the judgement of others matters (and putting in extra effort only for their sake). Who care’s what anyone thinks if doing or not doing something helps YOU feel better!

      • I think you’ve hit the nail on the head with that one. It’s very easy to get carried away with all of that initially and (at least I found) there’s a point where you stop, look at everything and ask “Why?”

      • That’s full on. I had mine resected I think it was 4 or 5 times before I just massively got the shits with ingrown toenails every 6 months when it would come back and told them to just take the whole bloody thing. I never used to get them beforehand, but it all started because I got a pedicure done to spoil myself once.

  2. I admire any woman who rocks hairy legs. Seriously! I don’t know why it’s such a “thing” in society that women should always shave. It’s nonsense if you ask me.

    • I have to agree. And honestly, the more time I’ve spent running around without being smooth as a baby’s bum, the more I’m noticing that your regular, every day people just don’t care. If I’m getting dressed up to go out somewhere, I’ll still take the time to look ‘presentable’, but if it’s a hot day and I’m going to Bunnings for a sausage and some expanding foam, you’re entirely out of luck 😛

Leave a Reply

