[Journal] An adventure

It’s been a while since I posted something. I know, I’ve been bad. I’ve also been all over the place and have had trouble finding a mental space to blog from. I normally use According to Abigail to catalog my thoughts and experiences relating to health and life, but every now and again I find myself in a place where I’m far too overwhelmed to begin the process. Too much simply just happens and rather than being able to sit down and clear my head, I’m left juggling chaos and working on getting through another day. This was one of those periods. I’m sure at some point I’ll have the mental acuity to document my thoughts and feelings over that time, but not right now.

Actually, the reason I’m writing this blog entry is because I’m having an adventure! For the first time ever, the manthing and I are on a holiday. It’s less about plane flights and resorts and more about a change of pace. More importantly, this is a chance to get away from all the stress and nonsense and a time for us to have some fun.

The thing is, I have no idea how my health issues are likely to affect us. Not only is this a very physical adventure, but it’s also a test to see just how well I can manage the chronic health issues while out of the comfort of my own home for a fortnight.

One of the first things I really noticed was the ‘sick’ bag. How many other people travel with a lap – sized bag full of creams, tablets, medication and heat packs? I have to make sure I have all my nightly medication in sufficient quantities (including vitamins and pill cutters), my painkillers need to be enough to get me through the trip even if I have a bad flare, I need my script for carrying such large quantities of painkillers and I need other creature comforts like a hot water bottle, arm warmers and a face cream to make things easier if I do have a flare up. I decided early on thst it was far better to be prepared for the worst case scenario and not need it, than to hazard a guess at my average for the time away and not have enough.

I also need certain items from home to ensure I don’t make things problematic while away. My pillow is important if I want to avoid a splitting headache and neck issues. My lap blanket gives me that extra bit of warmth to keep pain at bay while I sleep. I see these as things that most healthy people would forgo, but I’m willing to be wrong.

Today manthing and I completed what was close to a 9 hour drive by the time we reached our ‘halfway’ mark. We both took turns driving for about 3 hours at a time and had to make fairly regular rest stops every 2 hours or so, just so I could get out and stretch my legs. I had to find ways to mitigate the lethargy from the Chronic Fatigue and make sure I wasn’t borrowing spoons from tomorrow at the same time. It’s been a bit of a hassle but I’ve done my best to avoid a day of micro management and just have fun.

Because this is the first time we’ve done anything like this, I have honestly got no idea what to expect. I do suspect that after our weekend, I’m going to need a few days to un-exhaust myself, and will need to get a lot more sleep than I would at home (hello 10pm bedtime!), but I’m actually pretty determined to blog every few days, if not every day about our little escapades. Specifically, any observations or chronic ‘life hacks’ I discover on the way.

I’m going to leave this here for tonight and try to get some sleep, so I’ll catch you all on the flip side!

I actually want to make an effort to

2 thoughts on “[Journal] An adventure

Leave a Reply

