A good support community

One thing people never tell you about being diagnosed with Fibro is that it can be seriously scary sometimes. Especially when you start getting all these strange and whacky symptoms that make no sense, you get no answers (see: “Your bloods came back perfectly normal!”) and you personally don’t know people you can talk to about these things.

One of the best things you can do is find a community for people dealing with Fibro specifically. In my case, it’s Reddit. Time and time again, I’ve found myself overwhelmed with the response I’ve had to my dire “Help, am I dying?” questions. Obviously not medical advice, but you’re dealing with people that LIVE the same condition you have and deal with the strange shit it brings on a daily basis. Sometimes all you need is to feel like you’re being understood. Sometimes you need advice from someone that’s walked the same road as you. Sometimes, you just need to feel like you’re not going mad. Thus far, the two most amazing communities I’ve encountered for this are Reddit and the Bloggers. Both are entirely no-bullshit, real people that will tell things how it is. Both have been important beyond words in my rough times, my pain flares and my freakouts.

For those without these resources, please please PLEASE follow these links and build your support community.

http://www.reddit.com/r/Fibromyalgia/ – The Reddit board. I love these guys to bits.

My fellow Fibromites:

http://bleachedbonevalley.wordpress.com/ – A wonderful woman that tells things exactly how it is.

http://littleefibro.wordpress.com/ – A blog I’ve found a lot of inspiration in.

http://fighterzblog.wordpress.com/ A zine specifically for us.

http://myfibrotasticlife.com/ – The first blog that I followed on here. A fellow fighter, incredible young woman and the inspiration for continuing to keep my own blog going. Thank you.

3 thoughts on “A good support community

    • Knowing that us strange ones actually stick together over little communities like this is such an important thing. If our ranting helps someone else deal with their daily bullshit, then all the better 🙂

      • Exactly. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

        Stupid me, I never even thought to look for a fibro community at reddit. I don’t know what I was thinking. They have a community for people who like to pop pimples, ferchrissakes. XD

Leave a Reply

