A day of contrast

So, today has been an interesting day. Almost a day of opposites in some ways.

Today I got my disability parking permit, so when I’m having my seriously bad day, I don’t have to walk three blocks to get some milk. In some ways it’s kind of the final confirmation that what I have is not only real, but it’s here to stay. Up to a certain point you can be in denial about the things you deal with. Even on a daily basis. However, you inevitably get to that point where you really can’t look past the things that are staring you in the face.

Despite having the full support of my GP this whole time (about 4 years now), it feels like I have the validation from her that I AM sick since she had to write the letter for me to get the permit, and I kind of have the acceptance from the rest of the world that this is a real thing, despite having a diagnosis. On the other hand, it’s also a little depressing. Despite the fact that I’m internally doing a little fist pump over it all, I also have a bit of a sigh of sadness. This is all real. This really kinda sucks. There’s no escaping what I have, just dealing with it from day to day.

I’m also finding it means that I’m more prone to fucky little things going wrong with my body, and when they do, they make sure to time themselves to go out with everything else that could possibly hurt. I’ve managed to get a fantastic case of tendonitis and bursitis in one of my shoulders that seems to calm down and then flare, then calm down again. Rinse and repeat. What this means is that simple things like using the bathroom elicit yelps from a certain unsuspecting (see: forgetful) blogger, manthing needs to help me put on my bra (not as fun as it sounds!) and if I happen to be unlucky enough to roll over in my sleep onto that side, I’ll pay for it dearly in the morning. The only way to fix this sort of cock-up is apparently immobilization of the joint – because that’s going to happen – and Cortisone injections. We’ll see if my body doesn’t decide to play ball and solve the problem itself first.

On the flip side of things, I got by today on only one painkiller tablet and one of my anti-inflammatories this morning. I actually felt brave enough to beg manthing to pull the elliptical machine out and go for a bash.

I’m pleased to announce that I made my fat cry. And by that, I mean I sweat like a pig in the bacon isle of the supermarket. I tell you one thing, sweating while on as many tablets and supplements and crap as I’m on makes you smell like an old lady’s buttcrack on a hot day. It is seriously NOT sexy!

On the upside, I ‘ran’ my first kilometre tonight! Isn’t that just awesome?

πŸ˜€ I have to admit, it’s not much, but it’s a hell of an achievement for someone like me right now, especially coming out of a big sucky pain flare. I’ve been stuck in bed for almost a week, then migrated between bed and chair and back to bed again and today I finally caught enough of a break to kick some butt and prove that I’m still going to fit that beautiful dress of mine come April.

I’m going to end this post on a positive note and aim to get a post a day this week. Let’s see if I can’t make it work. So, I’ll love you and leave you all with a picture of the most incredible dress ever – the one that’s sitting in my closet and just waiting for me to fit it πŸ™‚

A photo of the amazing dress I have.

One thought on “A day of contrast

Leave a Reply

